Mumbai Indians Outscore Delhi Capitals To Clinch 5th IPL Title

Indian Premier League’s (IPL) defending champions Mumbai Indians chased Delhi Capital’s target of 157 runs within 19 overs to bag their second consecutive and fifth overall title at the Dubai Cricket Stadium last night.

Delhi Capitals got off to a poor start with opener Marcus Stoinis losing his wicket in the first ball of the match, followed by top-order batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane failing to make an impact with scores of 15(13) and 2(4) respectively. It wasn’t until Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant shared a 96-run partnership and helped DC score a total of 156, with support from finishers Shimron Hetmeyer (5) and Axar Patel (9).

Mumbai Indians defeat Delhi Capitals to win 5th ipl indian premier league cricket title in dubai cricket stadium rohit sharma 2020

Photograph credit: Mumbai Indians

Trent Boult led the bowlers’ tally with three wickets in four overs and conceded 30 runs at an economy rate of 7.50, followed by Nathan Coulter-Nile bagging two wickets from his four-over spell, giving away 29 runs, and Jayant Yadhav bowling an economical spell of 25 runs in four wickets with one wicket. Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya and Keiron Pollard went wicket-less.

Despite brief scores of 4 and 0 in the playoffs, captain Rohit Sharma played a captain’s knock of 68(51), alongside key contributions by Quinton De Kock scoring 20 of 12, Suryakumar Yadav’s 19(20) and Ishan Kishan’s 33(19)*. Krunal Pandya hit the winning run in the 18.4th over, filling the stadium with a dazzling fireworks display and VIP spectators in all smiles.

“Firstly, I’m just very happy to be on the ground. IPL did a great job of making it happen, along with the management who made sure that everyone is safe first and then the tournament happens. The safety of the players was taken care of, which was very important. So, hats off to the whole IPL management and the BCCI officials as well. I would like to congratulate all the franchises as well, to make sure that there were no hiccups in terms of bio-bubble which was created. I know these are tough times, but, you have got to be disciplined, and that’s exactly what all the franchises did. All the franchises were very disciplined to make sure that IPL happens smoothly. To go and achieve that final result, I hope we put a lot of smiles back home and around the world as well. These were tough times, a lot of people were going through a lot of tough times as well. So, I hope this championship that we’ve won is something to cheer for the people back home as well.”

Rohit Sharma, Captain of Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians’ victory marks their fifth title, the most by any team in the history of IPL. The men in blue emerged triumphant in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

Mumbai Indians defeat Delhi Capitals to win 5th ipl indian premier league cricket title in dubai cricket stadium rohit sharma 2020

Photograph credit: Indian Premier League

A line-up of awards were up for grabs at the IPL post-match ceremony, with KL Rahul winning the Orange Cap after scoring 670 runs as well as claiming the Game Changer of the Season, Kagiso Rabada earning the Purple Cap after taking 30 wickets, Devdutt Padikkal winning the Emerging Award, Keiron Pollard winning the Super Striker of the Season, Ishan Kishan for the Most Sixes accolade, Jofra Archer getting the highest points for the Most Valuable Player and the Powerplayer of the Season for Trent Boult.

It’s worth mentioning the Burj Khalifa lit up its facade to mark Mumbai Indian’s victory too:

With the IPL making a return to the UAE in the midst of Coronavirus, Dubai Sports Council’s Chairman, His Highness Sheikh Mansoor Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum was in praise of the handling of the tournament. He says:

“Choosing the UAE to host this major tournament at this particular time has great significance and is indicative of the world’s trust and confidence in UAE’s handling of the COVID-19 pandemic. Players and officials from around the world are here for the IPL, and they are here because they feel safe and secure in the UAE.

HH Sheikh Mansoor bin Mohammed Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Sports Council



(Featured photograph credit: Mumbai Indians)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.